My Korean Boob Job Abroad: The Good, Bad And The Downright Ugly

I never thought I would be writing this, however I feel I owe it to women considering a boob job in South Korea.
I promise you full disclosure as I lift the lid on what the cosmetic surgeons don’t want you to know and what the patients will never tell you about.
I had been working in Korea for almost a year. I had saved a significant amount of money and I simply wanted to blow it!!

A friend referred me to a surgery clinic in Gangnam’s prestigious area ‘Cheongdam’.  This clinic advertised ‘no pain’ plastic surgery. I went to my consultation curious and wanting to believe the unbelievable.

Before the consultation the receptionist strangely asked if I wanted same day surgery. This should have been my first red flag!
As part of the consultation they conducted a mammogram to ensure the breast tissue was healthy.  I was impressed by their state of the art equipment.
They then showed me a simulation of what I would look like with different cc’s.
They let me try on a vest with my chosen size implants to give me an idea of how they would feel.
What they did not do was discuss with me the surgery itself.
From emailing the hospital director I was under the impression that their would be a translator present. However on the day of the consultation only the director and surgeon were present. They both spoke very little English.
I had chosen a modest, relatively small 325cc.
It was not until the day of the surgery that I was told to sign a waiver of responsibility,  the alternative was not to have surgery,  and lose all the money paid, so I signed.
I was strapped down to the operating table and I remember the anaesthetist was searching for a vein to deliver the anaesthetic when the surgeon told me the size I requested at our consultations was not possible because of my chest diameter and height.  He told me that the smaller implant, 275cc, would serve as ‘trainer boobs’ and I could get another surgery at a later date with bigger implants.
I was reluctant to slash my large chested hopes and annoyed that he had left it to the day of surgery to tell me. He gave me the ultimatum of a smaller implant or no surgery that day.
When I woke up I did not feel pain in my breasts but to my confusion, in my legs.
I lifted the blanket and was horrified when I saw plasters on my bikini line and yellow and black bruising all over my legs.
I did not choose to have work done on my legs nor was this discussed at consultation.
My friend who has a medical background ran upstairs and demanded answers from the surgeon.
The surgeon explained they had removed fat from my legs and cultivated stem cells from the fat which was then injected into the incision site in both breasts for healing. He reassured me it was for my own good.
An hour after coming around from the anaesthetic and it was time to leave. I felt like I was a patient on a conveyer belt.
At a follow up appointment the nurse taught me how to change my stitches and gave me a Google translated sheet of instructions on how to care for the wound, which did not make much sense.
One year later and I am still overjoyed with the results. They have truly changed my life and how I feel about myself.  However I can’t help look at my genetically blessed or surgically enhanced double D friends and feel envious.
I hope my story can help others make better decisions!
One thought on “My Korean Boob Job Abroad: The Good, Bad And The Downright Ugly

Comments are closed.